I Do Belive In ???

Recently the topic of faith has become popular within my social circles, leaving me on the outside.  My personal belief system is drawn from sources of all kinds (actual religions, fictional faiths, my own mind ect.) and based on believing only the things that truly resonate within me, when I discus matters of faith with people the accepted norm is to name your “camp;” the organized religion that you belong to and that is when those of us who stand alone and away from every camp can see just how alone they are.

One of the most common ways for people to sort themselves is by belief systems: Christian v. Atheist, Pro-war v. Anti-war, Rebublican v. Democrat, Rap v. Metal, Coke v. Pepsi…  The list is endless.  But in the realm of religion (and, for the sake of this article, both Atheism and Agnosticism count as religions)  it isn’t so much a matter of A v. B as it is a matter of hundreds of warring factions demanding that you declare allegiance to one, be it the one you were born into or the one you have chosen.  Why is that?  Why is it that the choice to believe what you truly believe and nothing else cannot be respected and accepted?  Why do so many people choose to take a predetermined set of beliefs rather than create their own?

About duospiritus

I'm a seventeen year old two-spirit pansexual who has decided to blog about hir life, her past, his gender, their hardships and hir good times. I'll blog about anything and everything from my own life to politics, from local news to worldwide news and from personal drama to my drama career.

Posted on August 9, 2012, in History, Ideas, Life, My Mind, Other, The Present and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Anna (from GAYLA)

    I think that’s a really good point! I was actually discussing this with my church’s youth group (yes, I am part of an organized religion), when we were talking about why anyone would want to come to youth group (yeah, we have discussions like that).

    There are definitely many different groups who demand unquestioning devotion from their followers, with any attempt at honest debate seen as a threat. However, that is not what I believe. Sometimes though, I just feel like the accepting views of certain people of faith can get drowned out by those who just seem to want attention.

    Though I have very strong beliefs about my own faith (such as that God loves everyone, not just certain folks; social justice is the duty of everyone), I love hearing and discussing the different faiths of others, because it helps me define and add to my own, even though I still identify myself as a member of a structured religion.

    I guess what I personally believe is this: it sucks that there are people who try to pull or push people away by defining themselves and others in an “us vs. them” mentality. But there are definitely people of faith who believe quite the opposite–that faith can add beautiful and rich meaning and insight to an individual and community, but it is not necessarily the most important thing. The most important thing, in my opinion, is to simply be good to others, and to foster an environment that encourages others to do the same thing.

    What do you think? Do you think that sometimes more positive or accepting perspectives, whether religious or not, can get drowned out by those who want to compartmentalize the world? Do you think there’s any way to try to establish a more positive environment, without seeming like a shouter myself?

    Thank you for the great post!
    Anna

Tell me (and the world) what's on YOUR mind!

